A Bad Act

Standard

As a resident of California, all the talk this past week about my home state of Indiana has left me puzzled.

In case you haven’t heard, Governor Mike Pence signed the Religious Freedom Restoration Act into law.

I finally pulled myself away from the enjoyment of reading countless Pro-RFRA and Anti-RFRA Facebook comments, tweets and editorials, and decided to read the actual bill. You can do the same here. Good luck. I don’t speak legalese, so I found it not difficult, but painful to read.

What’s it all about Alfie? Can anyone spot a loophole?

I don’t understand the need for this legislation.

Is it really to protect Christian Business owners from potential lawsuits as a result of refusing to serve “the Gays?”

I know the politically correct term is LGBT, I’m just mimicking my favorite Pro-RFRA commenter – a seriously pissed off old lady who referenced “the Gays” and “the Gays shoving it in my face” and “the Gay Agenda.”  She really got it all off her chest in one concise comment.

I kept reading the Pro-RFRA comments – many from folks who aren’t even residents of Indiana:

“I just don’t agree with their lifestyle.”

Really? I respect their lifestyle. Especially when it involves getting an education, working for a living, being in a committed relationship, creating a loving home and family, adopting and raising children, caring for animals, acting neighborly, being civic-minded, and generally making their little corner of the world a better place.

“Should a Muslim Caterer be expected to serve pork?”

Clearly, this clever Pro-RFRA commenter thought he had produced the ultimate “Gotcha!” argument. Except, in reference to this imagined scenario, I actually know Muslim chefs who cook and serve pork, and Jewish chefs who cook and serve bacon and shellfish. It is quite common.

“The bible says….”

OK, I have no response here because I am not a biblical scholar. At best, I am a Cafeteria Catholic.  I’m comfortable with my faith and spirituality. My belief is that everyone has their own personal relationship with God. That relationship like any other relationship – is simply none of my business – no matter what the bible says – or doesn’t say.

I honestly don’t understand what all the fuss is about. It is 2015. Doesn’t everyone have at least one good friend, neighbor, co-worker, client, service provider or gasp!…..relative who just happens to be LGBT?

I asked a friend how she explained gay couples to her young daughter. She explained that her daughter’s only exposure to gay couples thus far is Cam and Mitchell on Modern Family. That’s close enough to real life for me. I mean really….has there been a more lovable couple since since Lucy & Ricky?

What is the big deal? In the words of the great Depeche Mode, “People are people.”

Amid the nationwide uproar and outrage over the RFRA, I am saddened by the perception of my Indiana PEOPLE.

If you have been disgusted by the “knuckle-dragger” (my favorite and most succinct, Anti-RFRA comment) lawmakers in Indiana, please don’t think this is an accurate representation of my fellow Hoosiers.

In our often uncivil society, being nice is under-rated. But, believe me – being nice, friendly and welcoming is a way of life in Indiana.

Hoosier Hospitality is a real thing. I think a handful of lobbyists, lawmakers and the Governor momentarily forgot this. Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard hasn’t.

ballard

IF, in fact, the intention is to protect private parties from government action as expressed in this statement, and has nothing to do with transactions between two private parties, and does NOT allow for discrimination; they certainly did a terrible job presenting it accurately, and an excellent job allowing it to be misrepresented.

They continue to fail miserably at explaining what it is, and what it isn’t.

They better get Olivia Pope on damage control. Pronto. Our Hoosier reputation is at stake.

While It is plausible that Frank Underwood had a hand in this debacle, I don’t have time to address all the conspiracy theories I read about, because I have real world concerns on the West Coast:

The Drought, the California Sea Lion crisis, and Bruce Jenner’s wardrobe choices as he transitions.

6 responses »

  1. WELL SAID!! It’s pretty insane what is happening around us. I am glad that you pointed out how the majority of Hoosiers don’t think that way and are accepting. No doubt there will be a lot of idiots out there that will generalize and hate everyone in Indiana! Olivia Pope rocks! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you for defending the Hoosier state. I almost busted a vessel over the shenanigans. The communication explaining the act and the timing of its enactment were horrible on the heels of the same-sex marriage debate. The grandstanding and hysteria over legislative hyperbole by a faction of the opposition was nasty and at times, unfounded. A biased media added fuel to the fire. Still getting my blog-worthy thoughts together.

    Like

    • I was appalled by the lack of explanation. Pence on Stephanopolous (sp?) was soooo frustrating – a huge fumble. I look forward to your post – it will be much more focused!

      Like

Leave a Reply

